This site requires JavaScript for navigation. Please enable JavaScript for the best learning experience.

A Master DNS server contains the following:

  1. A complete copy of zone files for the domain which the master server is authoritative. These files are created by the local DNS administrator.
  2. Each zone file contains an SOA record which lists the Master and Slave DNS servers (in that order)
  3. The primary and secondary are the first two name server (NS) resource records in the zone file.
  4. A complete copy of all information for all hosts in the DNS domain. This list of hosts is contained within the zone file. Slave servers download copies of the domain information on a regular basis. The domain information on a master server is manually entered by an administrator.

Master servers are often called primary servers.


NIS/NIS+ and Windows Domains are different from DNS domains and are not compatible.

Bookmark this page and SHARE:  


Support InetDaemon.Com

Get Tutorials in your INBOX!

Free Training